securedownload-5

Halloween re-cap, fall treat, roasted pumpkin seeds

Halloween was a total success with the exception of me not getting a single decent photo. I took many, but this is as good as it gets. Sister Girl insisted on the bottle. Manny fiddled with the feathers. Sigh. Oh well! My brother did take a couple cute ones at my sister’s Halloween party last weekend. Those are below my terrible porch picture. I can’t get them both to be still at the same time anymore. I figure we’ve got at least a couple more years like this.

I channeled my inner lunch lady and made sloppy joes for dinner. When is the last time you’ve had a sloppy joe? I’ve been craving them for months. They’re not my husband’s favorite but the kids and I enjoyed them thoroughly. The kids ate their dinner in their costumes, and let’s just say we won’t be able to re-use these costumes another year. White chicken costumes + sloppy joes = bad idea.

These days the air outside smells crisp, like camp fires from neighboring wood stoves and I remember being in Santa Fe, and the amazing smell of pignon fires. This is one of my favorite times of year. It won’t be long until we start thinking about Thanksgiving. I’m scouring Pinterest for pumpkin treats. Thinking about these GF pumpkin whoopie pies for this year. Manny and I carved a pumpkin yesterday while Sister Girl napped. I roasted the pumpkin seeds using this recipe. Delicious! Sister helped us eat them when she woke up. What are your favorite late fall treats?

Roasted Garlic Pumpkin Seeds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Spread pumpkin seeds on a baking sheet, bake for 20 minutes.

Pour pumpkin seeds into a bowl, add 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tsp garlic powder, sea salt to taste

Bake for another 15 minutes.

Try not to burn your mouth as you eat them, you won’t be able to wait until they cool, they’re really good!

Standard

Leave a Reply

