Falafel and other foods for little ones

Last Friday I made falafel for my family.

I’ve been a fan ever since I lived in Virginia and worked in a hospital with a Moroccan chef in the restaurant one building over. One of my coworkers turned me on to it and I’ve been a big fan ever since. I had never made it at home, but found a simple mix made by the company Near East so I thought I’d give it a try. The box was $1.99 so it was a low comittment. We were not disappointed. I cooked the little patties on the stovetop in some oil, and then put them in wraps with spinach, avocado, and a little balsamic dressing. As a side, I served a cold orzo salad with artichokes, tomatoes, and feta. It was super fast and pretty healthy. I also had most of the ingredients on hand in either the fridge or cupboard so it was super convenient to make. Sister girl was a big fan and ate two whole patties plain! Manny tried a bite and said he liked it but then asked for a grilled cheese. 3/4 approvals is not too bad! Next time I will make a tzakiki sauce to go with. I love when I can find something I hadn’t thought of before that Ju Ju ends up loving. Speaking of cool foods for little ones, have you all checked out Weelicious? It’s the coolest website with so many different ideas for recipes for kids, and grown-ups. I found this recipe for baby frittatas that I made to take along to a picnic we went on yesterday with some friends from Dedham. They came out delicious, and Sister Girl loved them! I skipped the sun dried tomatoes and added a little mozzarella cheese. I also doubled the recipe and it made exactly 24 to fill every cup in my mini-muffin tin.

Standard

Leave a Reply

