Veggie fried rice

I’m not sure why I haven’t thought to make this at home before, but I think it will be making a regular appearance from now on. I need to go grocery shopping so I was trying to use stuff I had on hand. The result was something quick and easy, and not to mention very tasty. Here’s what I did:

Veggie Fried Rice

1 cup brown rice, cooked

1-2 T. vegetable oil

half package of frozen mixed veggies (I used green beans, corn, peas, and carrots)

1 egg

1 T. sesame oil

2 T. soy sauce

Cook the rice and set aside. In a wok or other large frying pan, saute frozen veggies in veg oil for 5-7 minutes or until tender. When tender, add cooked rice to pan and mix. Clear a space in center of pan by pushing rice and veggie mixture to sides. Crack an egg in the middle. Quickly stir the egg and combine with the rice and veggie mixture until egg is cooked through, about 3-4 minutes or so. When egg is cooked, mix in sesame oil and soy sauce. Add more or less to your taste. Serve. Makes about 4-6 large servings.

There’s about a million variations on this. I think it would also be delicious with shrimp or chicken and could then be more of a main dish. We ate ours with burgers.

Standard

One thought on “Veggie fried rice

Leave a Reply

