Hamburger soup

When I was growing up, a good friend of our family used to make hamburger soup. It’s comfort food, totally simple, and totally easy to make. This is my version of hamburger soup which I make on a pretty regular basis. When I made it for the first time for my husband who was then just my boyfriend, he told me he contemplated proposing marriage right then and there. True story! I do think that’s a little dramatic but the soup IS tasty! Here goes:

Hamburger Soup

1/2 of a medium-larged sized sweet onion, chopped

2-3 cloves of garlic, chopped

olive oil to cook onions and garlic

1 lb or so of ground beef

1 can of diced tomatoes

1 T. dried basil

1 c. of beef stock

1/2 bag of frozen or canned mixed veggies

salt and pepper to taste

2 cups of cooked elbow macaroni

Cook the onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil. Brown the ground beef with the chopped onion and garlic. Chop the canned tomatoes with the juice and basil and oregano. Add to ground beef mixture. I don’t drain the fat off the ground beef because I use the low fat beef and find it’s hardly worth it to drain it off. Add the beef stock and the veggies. Cover and cook for 25-30 minutes. Add more broth if it’s too thick. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve over cooked macaroni, or rice if you’re looking for a GF recipe.

Sister Girl approved!

Standard

Leave a Reply

