Quick and easy: pizza at home

100_3441

As I mentioned earlier in the week, I’m posting some of my quick and easy go-to dinners over the next week or so. I use this recipe for pizza dough at home. It’s fast to make and it sits well in the fridge to be made the next day. I don’t know where the recipe came from originally. It was passed on to me by my brother so he gets the credit. If you’ve never made pizza dough at home you will be amazed at how easy and tasty it can be. By making it Wednesday to have on Thursday, making the pizza was even faster than take out would have been. Most of the time we like mushrooms on our pizza but last night we made plain cheese. I top it with salt, pepper, basil, and a little oregano. My kids love this pizza!

Basic pizza dough

Dissolve 1/4 oz. yeast packet in 1 cup of warm water and 2 tablespoons of sugar for about 8-10 minutes.

Start with about 2 cups of flour. Add 1 tablespoon of salt and mix. Add water/yeast/sugar mixture to flour with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Add in up to 1/2 cup more of flour if needed. Mix well. Cover and let rise in bowl for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, knead dough on a floured surface for a couple minutes. Refrigerate for later use or put onto a pizza stone or cookie sheet. Top with sauce (I like Don Pepino’s pizza sauce) cheese and whatever else you like. Bake at 425 degrees for 10-12 minutes or so.

Standard

Leave a Reply

